Broadband Echos


Episode 005 – Marcel Zaes & Robert Black – ENG
Episode 005 – Marcel Zaes & Robert Black – ESP

Marcel Zaes (b. 1984 in Bern, Switzerland), is an artist and artistic researcher, holding degrees from University of the Arts in Bern and Zurich University of the Arts, and has studied composition with Alvin Curran in Rome and with Peter Ablinger in Berlin. Currently, he is pursuing his Ph.D. in Music & Multimedia Composition at Brown University. Marcel investigates mechanical time, its politics and its socio-cultural contexts. His artistic practice encompasses installation pieces, “living installations” with human performers, concert music for ensembles and electronics, and multimedia solo performances that he calls “post techno beat music.” His works consist of assemblages of self-made software codes that act as mechanical timekeepers and human performers who they play “against.”

Robert Black tours the world creating unheard of music for the solo double bass, collaborating with the most adventurous composers, musicians, dancers, artists, actors, and technophiles from all walks of life. He is a founding and current member of the Bang On A Can All Stars. Current collaborative projects include a 10-channel audio/video double bass installation reflection on the Anthropocene with sound artists Brian House and Sue Huang, filmed at the Freshkills landfill in NYC, and Blued Trees Project an out-door, environmental installation/performance for 24 double basses exploring the tension between ecocidal fossil fuel policies and the drive for the common good expressed in environmental justice movements for Earth rights with environmental artist Aviva Rahmani, composer Eve Beglarian, and choreographer Yoshiko Chuma. 


Insta:: @marcelzaes 

CT::SWaM appearance:: ExChange 013, February 17 2020

All sounds heard in this episode are by Marcel Zaes or Robert Black.